Excellence in Teaching E-Learners

Minnetonka Awards for Child-Centered Excellence in Teaching

New this year, this award seeks to select the best representatives of the many outstanding e-learning teachers in the Minnetonka School District. The award includes recognition at every level and from every school.  

Award criteria

  • Taught (or is currently teaching) e-learners during the 2020-21 school year
  • Demonstrates exemplary commitment, enthusiasm, student-focus, effectiveness, and professionalism.
  • Displays personal and professional integrity.
  • Advocates for the best interest of students; addresses emotional and developmental needs of students.
  • Employs a wide range of educational and scientific research in teaching, including effective practices in differentiation—pulling the best out of each student.
  • Exhibits a genuine love of children and a professional commitment to children’s learning.
  • Creates a positive, supportive, respectful and disciplined atmosphere for personal and academic achievement to flourish.
  • Demonstrates a commitment to professional growth, school improvement, and community involvement.
  • Is a licensed teacher.

Nomination process

  • Any Minnetonka colleague, administrator, student, parent, community member, or alumnus may make the nomination. Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • The nomination shall include:
    • Nominator’s name and phone number
    • Nominee’s name, job title, and school or department
    • Answers to the following questions 
      • Briefly describe this nominee’s strengths in relation to the criteria for this award and in particular, how these strengths were used to enhance their teaching of e-learners.
      • Briefly describe how this nominee displays a genuine love of children and commitment to their learning.
      • Briefly describe how this nominee demonstrates best practices in teaching and in supporting e-learners.
      • Briefly describe this nominee’s involvement in our schools and community, beyond regular duties.
  • Submit one or more letters of support which share personal observations of how the nominee demonstrates a commitment to child-centered excellence. It is suggested that letters be from both an employee and non-employee of the District.
  • One finalist from each school (two from MHS) and MCEC are selected by a recognition committee at each site and shall be notified in late April.

The deadline to submit nominations for the 2023 Celebration of Excellence is Sunday, March 5, 2023.

Submit Your Nomination

Celebration of Excellence